How do I discover my life purpose?

beach-countryside-dawn-358249.jpg

Lately I’ve found myself in a position to reevaluate some of my goals – I mean some of my serious life goals.  I discovered that as sure as I was about those goals at the time, they were founded on the person I was at that time.  Of course I’m still me, but I’ve evolved and will continue to evolve.  So yah, my goals should too.

Then I started listening to a new book; How to Get Sh*t Done by Erin Falconer.  In the first chapter I realized something else…  I couldn’t answer simply:  WHY do I want to achieve these goals? – I’m not talking about an answer that fits with what is expected of me.

I’m talking about an answer that has meaning – to me.

Because in the very first chapter, Erin comes at you with some straight fire questions.  She asks you to take your time answering them, leave them for a bit and review them later.  If nothing else they get you thinking about what you really want & need, what you’re capable of and how that compares to what you’re doing now.

Erin asks:

  • If money were no object, how would you spend your time?
  • What makes you feel proud?
  • What makes you want to go back to bed?
  • What makes you feel jealous?
  • What motivates you?
  • What makes you want to quit?
  • Do your crave solitude or company at the end of the day?
  • What makes you feel envious?
  • What makes you feel awesome?
  • How did your family life shape you?
  • Describe yourself in just three words.
  • When do you feel the healthiest?
  • How often do you compare yourself with others?
  • When do you feel the most creative?
  • Whom do you have to please?
  • What drains you?
  • Would you rather lead or follow?
  • What is your best trait?
  • What is your worst trait?
  • Do you crave routine or novelty?
  • What makes you happy?
  • What makes you unhappy?
  • Where are the roadblocks, detours and open roads for you?
  • Where do things lie for you at the moment?

Don’t have time?  Pick three of the above and answer them like no one’s watching.  Now how do your answers compare to what’s going on in your real life right now?

Author: Janelle Juteram

Instagram: j.elle___ Instagram Business: revivalbyjj Etsy: https://www.etsy.com/ca/shop/REVIVALbyJJ

2 thoughts on “How do I discover my life purpose?”

Leave a comment